RTL solar park Beidweiler, Luxembourg

Solar park Beidweiler, Luxembourg

RTL Group’s Broadcasting Center Europe (BCE), located north-east of the city of Luxembourg, covers large areas of meadowland near the villages of Beidweiler and Junglinster. The land around the transmission masts cannot be used for industrial purposes – but why not for generating electricity?

With this initial idea, the largest solar parks in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg were built on behalf of RTL Group and the luxembourgish energy supplier Enovos. The plants were designed by WES Green and Paul Wagner & Fils. MKG Göbel contributed the substructure and performed the assembly work, so that the solar parks were successfully launched in January 2020. The second stage of expansion on the site in Beidweiler followed in 2021.

In fact, the land is now being used in three different ways: As a powerful broadcasting station, for the generation of renewable electricity for about 2,500 households and – in cooperation with a local shepherd – for extensive pasture farming. The bifacial modules also use the incidence of light on the back of the module and thus increase the electricity yield.

Project data Beidweiler II

  • Power output: approx. 2.8 MWp
  • 6,417 modules
  • Mounting system: GMS® MAX
  • Bauzeit: September – October 2021

Project data Beidweiler I / Junglinster

  • Power output: approx. 4.9 MWp / 2.2 MWp
  • 16,128 modules / 7,287 modules
  • Mounting system: GMS® FLEX-3V
  • Bauzeit: July – December 2019

Delivery and services

  • Test impact pile driving incl. soil survey and soil analysis
  • Project specific statics
  • On-site delivery of the GMS® FLEX resp. GMS® MAX substructure
  • Foundation works, cable trenches
  • Mounting of subsystem and modules

The video from the Luxembourg energy supplier Enovos describes the reasons behind the plant (in French language)

Click to access the login or register cheese

RTL-Solarpark Beidweiler, Luxemburg

Solarpark Beidweiler, Luxemburg

Das nordöstlich von Luxemburg gelegene Broadcasting Center Europe (BCE) der RTL Group umfasst große Wiesenflächen bei den Ortschaften Beidweiler und Junglinster. Die Grundstücke rund um die Sendemasten können nicht industriell genutzt werden – aber warum nicht für die Erzeugung von Strom?

Mit dieser Ausgangsidee entstanden im Auftrag der RTL Group und des luxemburgischen Energieversorgers Enovos die größten Solarparks im Großherzogtum Luxemburg. Die Anlagen wurden von WES Green und Paul Wagner & Fils projektiert. MKG Göbel steuerte die Unterkonstruktion bei und übernahm die Montagearbeiten, so dass die Solarparks im Januar 2020 erfolgreich ans Netz gingen. 2021 folgte bereits die zweite Ausbaustufe auf dem Gelände in Beidweiler.

Insgesamt werden die Flächen nun sogar dreifach genutzt: Als leistungsstarke Sendeanlage, zur Erzeugung von umweltfreundlichem Strom für ca. 2.500 Haushalte und – in Zusammenarbeit mit einem Schäfer aus der Region – für extensive Weidewirtschaft. Die bifazialen Module nutzen auch den Lichteinfall auf der Modulrückseite und steigern daduch den Stromertrag.

Projektdaten Beidweiler II

  • Anlagenleistung: ca. 2,8 MWp
  • 6.417 Module
  • Montagesystem: GMS® MAX
  • Bauzeit: September – Oktober 2021

Projektdaten Beidweiler I / Junglinster

  • Anlagenleistung: ca. 4,9 MWp / 2,2 MWp
  • 16.128 Module / 7.287 Module
  • Montagesystem: GMS® FLEX-3V
  • Bauzeit: Juli – Dezember 2019

Leistungsumfang

  • Proberammung inkl. Baugrunduntersuchung und Bodengutachten
  • Projektspezifische Statik
  • Lieferung der Unterkonstruktion GMS® FLEX bzw. GMS® MAX
  • Erdarbeiten, Kabelverlegung
  • Gestell- und Modulmontage

Das Video des luxemburgischen Energieversorgers Enovos beschreibt die Hintergründe der Anlage (auf Französisch)